Review: Premiere Event Part 1

In case you aren’t already aware, these episode reviews are going to be a regular component here on the site. After an episode has been out for a few days, check here for plenty of explanation of hidden references, concepts, and other behind-the-scenes information. Keep in mind that they will not usually be this long. Now, on to business. Where can I start when I introduced so much into just this one episode? I suppose I should begin with Chaos the Hedgehog. No, I’m not going to reveal his origin story here, but yes, it will be revealed soon, as part of Season 0. After all parts of this Series Premiere are completed, the story will jump back in time by one year, explaining the origin stories of both Chaos and Blacklight the Hedgehog. Back on topic, Chaos, just to clarify things, is as of this time training both Sonic and Shadow in the ways of the Chaos Emeralds, something that he clearly knows all about. Also of note is his reference to Sonic as “Controller.” A cookie for you if you understood what this meant. It will be explained later, but “The Controller” refers to the chant of the Master Emerald. You may recall, “The Controller serves to unify the Chaos.” What Chaos suggests is that Sonic is this unifier of Chaos, almost as if by destiny. More on that later. What else you may have noticed is slight discrepancies in the characters of Sonic and Shadow. Sonic may have seemed a bit unusually serious compared to what you may remember from Sonic Colors and Sonic Lost World. This is not simply a result of creative liberties, but rather a result of character development which has/will occur in Season 0. The same goes for Shadow, who may have seemed a bit too calm, almost to the point of being friendly. I wish I could say more than “I’ll explain it later,” but for now that’s all I have for most of the rest on this episode.

One last topic to discuss is the “Flow of Chaos.” I’m sure you can already guess what I have to say about its in-universe purpose (I’ll explain later). However, I can certainly take this time to give a little bit of real-life history. It begins with a simple question I asked myself as a young child: “What are the Chaos Emeralds? How do they work?” With all of the Emerald-based plots we’ve had in so many Sonic games, it’s honestly a complete wonder to me that the only provided answer to the first question is “ancient magic rocks.” And in all honesty, this fact is probably the only reason that The Chaos Project exists. A vast majority of this series is and will be dedicated to giving a legitimate answer to that simple question. And that answer begins with the introduction of the concept of the Flow of Chaos.

Oh, and I almost forgot. Eggman no longer owns Eggmanland. This was actually a last minute decision, but one that fits in well with my plans. The main purpose of this was to show right-off-the-bat that Blacklight is no joke, despite his…odd personality. Eggman temporarily owned his very own small country, but Blacklight seems to have casually taken it away. That’s all on that for now.

-And until next time, remember to live and learn every day!

Leave a comment