Forces Shenanigans, and a New Note on Canon

Here’s a whole bunch of stuff, because I’m too lazy to make separate posts every time something new happens. First, some nice atmospheric music.

Now, for the main reason I’m here. Recently, they have begun putting out a series of short prequel comics to the game. The first one was pretty uneventful, but the second brought something important to my attention. Take a look.

In particular, note pages 2 and 7. Knuckles and Silver clearly know each other. For Knuckles, there are plenty of explanations, the most obvious of which would be that Sonic Rivals is canon. As for Silver…I don’t don’t know how it is that they screwed this up, but they did. Either…
A) — Silver comes from a ruined future timeline of Forces, in which Sonic loses and Eggman maintains control over the world, in which case Silver should have absolutely no recollection of any past encounters with Sonic and/or friends, since he’s from a different future than he was in any such encounters. Or…
B) — Silver comes from a peaceful future, as we’ve seen in some games, and got the brilliant idea to intentionally go back in time and screw with history, potentially ruining the peace that he has. Bravo, Silver.
There is an option C), but it’s a bit of a stretch. In a previous ruined-future timeline game, Silver returned from his attempts to save history, only to find that absolutely nothing had changed, because somehow, his meddling led to Sonic losing in Forces, and Sonic losing in Forces happened to result in an identical future to what Silver was supposed to fix. So, memories still intact, he would have to make a second try. It bothers me, but I can accept it if I must.
Okay, I suppose there might be option D) as well. Through some kind of wibbly-wobbly timey-wimey nonsense, Silver was not affected by the changes to his own timeline, even though he has been in the past (future?). Related option D2): In a similar change-up of established rules, Silver’s time-travel has already occurred, he is able to read about himself in the history books, so he knows that he has to go back in time because he’s already been there. That’s a paradox right there, but it’s technically an explanation. I’m not willing to take either of these at face value, but if it gets explained in the game, I’ll be happy with it.

But wait! Something doesn’t sit right with me about what Knuckles said. “I thought you you returned to the future? [sic]” (Bad grammar, by the way. That was a statement, not a question. Yes, I do care about that more than the double you. No, that wasn’t me making a transcription error. Yes, I am interrupting an entire thought to complain about typos, when I make plenty of them myself. Don’t judge me.) Sorry about that. Anyways, let’s take a moment to consider that quote carefully. Knuckles is implying that he has a hard time understanding how Silver could possibly have time-traveled more than once, instead stating that his gut reaction was to assume that Silver had never left. But…there’s more than one Sonic Rivals game. If Sonic Rivals were canon, then the concept of Silver popping back and forth between the present and the future would be no big deal. If Silver, in memory, had come back to the present multiple times, then Knuckles’ first thought would more likely have been “Oh no. If you’re you’re here again, that must mean something bad is about to happen.” (I didn’t realize what I just had Knuckles say until after I wrote it. Oh no. And yes, you’re you’re was a joke.) So, I conclude with near-certainty that Silver must have canonically come to the present exactly one time before. And since 06 decanonized itself, and you can’t trust a word of what the handheld port of Colors tells you, that leaves one reasonable conclusion. Sonic’s birthday party, at the end of the events of Sonic Generations, is canon and remembered (something I’ve been sort of avoiding in my story, but I had a plan that just got more difficult). Additionally, at said party, Silver and Knuckles must have interacted off-screen, not to the point of becoming good friends, but enough to remember each other’s names and basic backstory. That’s certainly the sense I got from the way they interacted, anyways. That also solves the problem of Silver’s memory. Since he didn’t actually change anything in the past, he returned to his future as-is.

So, there it is. If you don’t think about it, it works just fine. If you do think about it, it looks like complete nonsense. But if you analyze even deeper, it isn’t necessarily unreasonable. But something’s still not sitting quite right with me. Oh, yeah. It’s because my entire Speed of Time arc seems to completely contradict this. Yes, it’s a problem only a fanfic writer could have, but can you blame me for thinking that Silver would never play such an important role again? After ten years of nothing but rudimentary stories featuring only Sonic and Tails? So here’s how it is. Everything is canon. No, not everything. But this comic is canon to The Chaos Project, and The Chaos Project will not be retconned to accommodate it. How does it make sense that Silver doesn’t believe in time-travel in Speed of Time, but remembers his previous time-traveling experiences in Forces? How does it make sense that Sonic doesn’t remember Silver from Generations, but Knuckles supposedly does? (I know this also applies to Forces, but I’m waiting to jump to conclusions until after I know the full story.) These questions will be answered…eventually. I have a plan. It has to do with time-travel. Big shocker, I know. But…it may not have anything to do with Generations. That’s an entirely different continuity nightmare that will be addressed in an entirely different episode or story arc.

Before I go, one more piece of news.

I haven’t really taken the time analyze this fan-subbed new trailer yet, but it’s definitely looking good. Space battles? Yes please. Exciting yet serious story? Yes please. Epic and powerful villain? Yes please. Avatar rental? Who cares!?

-Before I say goodbye to you one more last fist bump!

EDIT: Wait a minute! I just figured out, when you first meet Silver in Generations, he recognizes you! AGH! This ruins everything! This means not only that Silver must have been in the past more than once before Forces, but that Generations has the same exact problem! In fact, if Generations is taken to be canon, that means that either Colors DS or Rivals must also be canon. But Rivals is still a continuity nightmare, and Colors DS is barely any better. Or…Silver remembers Sonic from 06. Which would be bad. Very bad. So…how to make this work…well, Silver’s exact words are: “Sonic? Is it really you?” So…I’ve got it! Silver had never actually met Sonic before. Instead, he recognizes him as a historical figure, perhaps even an idol. That way, he’s less likely to trust Sonic upon meeting him, never having met him before, as well as solving the problem of Knuckles’ line in the comic, since that would make Generations his only canon use of time-travel. I would propose that this is the same Silver from the end of Silver’s story in 06, the timeline where Iblis is defeated (which eventually gets erased). Problem with that is that Crisis City is still in…well, crisis. There’s no way that a Silver could have been pulled from an Iblis-controlled Crisis City who is on friendly terms with Sonic. Except for…if he had been pulled straight out of the final Iblis fight. But then, I feel like he would be a lot more concerned with being separated from Blaze in the middle of an important fight than he would be about a potential impostor of Sonic trying to steal the Emerald from him. Anyways, none of this really matters, since Generations is not the answer to Forces according the the canon that I’m building, but it really bothers me all the same.

Leave a Reply

