Review: Season 0, Episode 15

So this episode was pretty fun to write, although I would have liked it to feel not quite so rushed. But a big majority of this episode was actually a bit of a last-minute decision, first planned while I was in the middle of last episode, and only finalized as I started writing this one. Originally, the idea was to have Shadow immediately encounter parallel-Sonic, and have them use Chaos Control right then and there to get Shadow where he needs to go. But I have been thinking for a while about a potential future episode which would heavily call back to this one, so I thought I should give the whole alternate timeline sequence a little more emphasis, which turned into almost an entire episode. I’m a little worried about describing my exact thought process in planning this new emphasis, for risk of spoiling said potential episode. But I can say that the thought of teaming Sonic up with Eggman out of desperation was an idea which really intrigued me the moment I thought of it. But I didn’t think that was worth it until I came up with the idea to make them not just grudged allies, but true friends. And I knew that the best way to drive that concept home while also making the whole alternate timeline sequence feel more relevant was to have Eggman die. The hard part was making it feel properly emotional. I didn’t want any readers to think “Good riddance.” I think I did well enough on that end. I felt that emotional sequence was so important to get right because of the direction the series will be going after Crisis of Chaos, portraying Eggman as a truly evil villain. I wanted to show that he does have some potential for humanity within him, and that circumstances make all the difference.

On a related note, the episode title may have stood out to you a bit. For anyone who doesn’t remember, Project: Needlemouse was the early codename for Sonic the Hedgehog 4, which in turn was a reference to Sonic’s own beta name, Mr. Needlemouse. I don’t really recall what order all of my different ideas came in, but the decision that I had recently come to to have all of the different Season 0 arcs be identifiable and separable by overarching theme in episode titles (time puns>Batman movie puns>”Project:” titles) led to my need in this case to come up with a good “Project:” title for this episode. At first it was just going to be the title of next episode, before I lengthened the whole alternate timeline part. After that I was considering “Project: Chaos” in reference to the plan to steal a Chaos Emerald, but I decided I wanted to save that one for potential later use. I also considered “Project: Emerald,” but that doesn’t have the same ring to it. At some point when I was thinking both about a way to make Sonic and Eggman seem closer, and thinking through other potential titles, the thought of using nicknames struck me, and I couldn’t ignore the thought of having Sonic be nicknamed Needlemouse. That, or the memory of Sonic 4 AKA Project: Needlemouse struck me, and my thoughts went in the other direction. Either way, the result was the current and final episode title.

As for Sunlight, I think his personality came across a little bit more easily and naturally this time, though I have been planning that scene for considerably longer. I really enjoyed conveying the idea that his insane ramblings did make perfect sense to him. The difficult part was trying to set him up to have such strong loathing for Shadow in the future, while still making him seem childish and naive. I thought that simply giving him a weird obsession with examining Shadow would be enough to start with. And…I guess that’s all for now.

-Until next time, remember to live and learn every day!

Leave a Reply

