Review: Season 0, Episode 10

Another quick episode, I really am impressed with myself. But I suppose it makes sense, since this whole arc is primarily plot-driven, which I can write for much more easily than the primarily action-driven Speed of Time arc.

That whole ending part was pretty dramatic, so I guess I’ll start from there. Before I started writing this episode, the plan was actually to end the episode with the scene that it began with, with Black Cloak and the Chaos Emerald. But on the one side, I decided I needed to try to get readers to feel more connected with Black Cloak by showing a personal moment, and on the other hand I decided that the end of last episode didn’t do a good enough job showing how evil King is. So, I moved that scene to the beginning and created a scene of King’s committing murder for the end. And it’s a good thing I did, as Black Cloak was in no position to be meditating in his cave by the end. And so we get to the previous scene, ending in his and Sonic’s falling into a bottomless pit. To be clear, these chasms are an acknowledgement of the in-game obstacles of Westopolis in Shadow the Hedgehog. The android which the three characters fought was loosely inspired by The Terminator, a film series about evil, nearly-indestructible humanoid robots. The emphasis on the word “terminate” in the next scene was not a complete accident.

The only other thing I really have to mention is the reference to Vector and the Chaotix. I came up with the scene a while ago, after most of the rest of the story was already constructed, because the thought crossed my mind that “Someone has gone missing, and the person looking for him personally knows a trio of private investigators. Why wouldn’t he ask them first?” So, I had to justify why they weren’t there, and thus keep my character list down to a more manageable number. That’s all for now, short one this time.

– So until next time, remember to live and learn every day!

Leave a Reply

