Preview: Season 0, Episode 9

On the next episode of The Chaos Project, a hero will rise. On the streets of Westopolis, a city changed forever by the Black Arms invasion, legend speaks of a shadowy figure who protects the people from harm. Now, that legend has returned.

In a dim alleyway between two tall buildings, a woman walks, carrying a small purse. “Excuse me, miss?” She turns around to see a very large man addressing her.

“Wh-what do you want?”

“Oh, nothing much. You, see, it’s just that The Boss decided that he needs a little bit more out of you. You understand, I’m sure?”

“B-but I already payed my dues this month. Why does he want more?”

“Ooh, I’d be careful if I were you. It’s not a very good idea to question The Boss. The Boss gets what The Boss wants. So, are you going to hand it over?” He pounds a fist into an open hand. “Or am I going to have to take it from you?”

“P-please, I can’t afford another payment, not yet!”

“I’m sorry you feel that way.” He begins to take several steps closer to her.

She cries out, “Somebody, help me!” Suddenly, a small, red projectile sticks into the floor between them, thrown from high above.

A deep, rumbling, artificially disguised voice shouts “Hold it right there!” Both of the humans look up, surprised, to the source of the voice. High on the top of the building, a silhouetted figure stands, with a tattered cloak billowing in the wind. The figure leaps from the roof, dives through the air, and lands gracefully on the ground behind the man.

The man turns to face his own assailant. The figure has the height of an animoid, but is covered head-to-toe in a skin-tight black suit. Outside of the suit is a dirty, tattered cloak worn around the shoulders, its hood up and shadowing the eyes. He also wears a pair of dark red gloves. The man starts to panic, “Hey, hold up, this all just one big–”

“Don’t play games with me.” The figure looks back to the woman. “Get out of here. Go on, go. This man won’t be bothering you ever again.”

“Who…who are you?”

“I’m no one. Now get out of here.” She obeys, and runs off. He turns back to the man. “Is this how you get your kicks? Stealing from innocent people? Disgusting.”

The man starts to back away in fear. “No, it’s not that, it’s…The Boss, he–”

“Just can it already. You and I both know that King didn’t ask you for anything. You just wanted to get him a little more than he was expecting. To save your own behind from some other slip-up, I assume?”

“You, you don’t understand, he, he, he has my family, if I don’t please him then he’ll, he’ll–”

“I know all about you and your family. Now I’m only going to ask this once. Where is King?”

“I-I don’t know where–”

He grabs the man by the shirt collar. “Answer the question!”

“I swear, I don’t know! I’ve never seen him face-to-face. But there is…a messenger. It’s the same man every time. I don’t know his name.”

“Do you know where I can find him?”

“I’m supposed to meet him at this time in a week. The corner of 25th street and Emerald Way. I don’t know anything else, I swear!”

“I believe you. Now get out of here.”

“The Bo-…King…. My family, he’ll–”

“He won’t get the chance. I’ll make sure of it. Now go. Take your family, and get as far away from Westopolis as you possibly can.”

“He’ll find us. He always finds them…”

“Not if I have anything to say about it.”

“…Thank you…stranger. Please, tell me who you are. Who, do I tell my children, saved us?”

“I don’t have a name. But some call me…the Black Cloak.”

Leave a Reply

