Review: Season 0, Episode 2

Continuing from last week’s discussion of the history of Season 0, we can now come to Speed of Time itself. Even though I did say that the “original game ideas” came before the concept of the Chaos Project, that actually isn’t true in this case. There was something else, however. The original concept was entirely different, the basic premise being a dimension-hopping adventure instead of a time traveling one. The main antagonist would have been an evil, parallel universe version of Sonic, who, with Sonic’s unwitting help, would have taken over Sonic’s home city while Sonic was locked away in yet another dimension. Twelve dimensions total were planned, one of which would have been the Sol Dimension. In the finale, Sonic would have called upon the power of not just the Chaos Emeralds, but seven “miracle gems” from each dimension, becoming what I was at the time calling “Hyper Gem Sonic,” who would literally have had his skin entirely coated in gemstones. In this state, Sonic could not only have spoken to, but had his actions controlled by the Lords of Chaos, the one factor which connects this concept to Speed of Time. This arc will serve as the proper introduction to the concepts of Controller and Lord of Chaos, hopefully answering most of your questions. Anyway, the primary reason that I cancelled this idea was that I couldn’t come up with that many concepts for other dimensions, though I was also having trouble properly planning a connection between the middle of that story and the end. That was almost the death sentence for Season 0 as a whole, but as I said earlier, I just couldn’t give up having Chaos and Blacklight in the premiere. So, I reinvented the idea instead, and Speed of Time is what I came up with.

Now, on to this episode, starting with Zero. His name is has something like three hidden meanings, and his appearance in Season 0 is not one of them. You may have noticed, based on the episode title, his connection with nuclear detonation, and while this wasn’t 100% intentional, I had my choice of apocalypse methodology after creating the character, and that was part of the inspiration. The other two meanings are actually story important, so I won’t spoil it. I’d like to mention here that most of my important OC names are directly linked to the story, something that I’m actually quite proud of. Now, the addition of Zero was something that I knew was necessary. Even if I wanted to use Shadow here (something that I wanted to take a step back from for a little bit) he wouldn’t have fit into this story well at all, and I knew that just Sonic and Silver (more on that next week) would make for a pretty lame story. So I knew that I needed to make a third character, preferably one with a deep past that could help drive the story along. The concept for Zero came along pretty quickly from there. And for now, that’s all I’ve got!

– And until next time, remember to live and learn every day!

Leave a Reply

