Review: Premiere Event Part 4

And so, all of the OC’s died, and Eggman lived happily ever after. Except that this is not the end. It is just the beginning…

First off, I would like to talk about the conversation between Chaos and Shadow. That was actually completely unplanned, originally I had Sonic and Shadow arriving at about the same time. The first change came when I decided to have Shadow arrive first, to show the contrast between his near-death and Sonic’s relative ease. But then, as I was writing his reappearance, things just sort of naturally flowed into a “be careful” conversation, as that is what Chaos’ character dictates that he would say. But exactly what would be said there was more for planning ahead. Chaos just died, so there will not be any more chances for emotional scenes between him and Shadow. Sonic will get his chance in Season 0, so I decided to let Shadow have his now, at the only possible opportunity.

Next up… fusion…. Honestly, I’m not proud of that scene at all, as you may have been able to tell by Chaos’ speech, which was directed as much to you the reader as it was to Sonic and Shadow. I’ve never read another Sonic FanFiction before, but I get the strange feeling that fusing the two main characters through some magical power is just about the most stereotypical “FanFictiony” thing that one can do. I came up with the idea quite a few years ago, and I’ve been trying to find a way around it ever since. But I just couldn’t find a good way that wouldn’t ruin other story purposes. Oh, well. By the way, Shadow’s emotions will actually prevent this from being used as a plot device in the future, since his character is moving towards light while the process requires him to be dark, which I suppose is a plot device in and of itself, since that will be the reason that Eggman will not be easily defeated by this fusion later.

I would talk about the clock tower now, but I would hope that the cinematic effect it created was clear. If not, I suppose I failed at my job as a writer, to make that scene as intense and dramatic as possible. I’ll add that it was supposed to be…ironic, I suppose, that the fall of the planet to Eggman can really be pointed to as having happened at exactly midnight, New Year’s Eve. Once that was over, I made sure at the end of the episode to acknowledge the wide cast of characters which will not necessarily get an introduction when Season 1 begins, but hopefully in a way which doesn’t kill the dramatic mood of the previous scene. Two major things to take note of in that scene are that, firstly, Big was not in contact with the others, which will be an important fact, and secondly that Omega was entirely missing from the series of scenes. This is because he (yes, I do intend to use “he” and not “it” because he has been identified as male in the past) will be one of the few to get a serious introduction into the first episode of Season 1. And I guess that’s all, for now. Oh, and by the way, the Character Guide and Episode Guide have been updated to appropriately include the events of this episode.

– And until next time, remember to live and learn every day!

Leave a Reply

