Review: Season 0, Episode 9

I managed to write this episode in two days, which is incredible for me. It usually takes upwards of two weeks. I guess I was just excited after just having finished the last arc. Even then, a third of the time I spent on this episode was dedicated to the Previously section at the beginning. It’s easy enough to pull quotes from Sonic Adventure 2 now that I’ve written Cast by the Light, but things from Shadow the Hedgehog and Sonic 06 are a bit harder. Anyways, this isn’t my longest episode, but it’s far from my shortest.

Now onto the episode itself. In case you couldn’t tell, I’m trying to go a little darker and grittier here, while still keeping that fantasy element that remains so consistent through Sonic games. And do you know what’s both dark and gritty, and fantastical at the same time? Superheroes! Now, obviously I hope, Black Cloak is heavily inspired by Batman, hence the episode title in reference to the movie title, Batman Begins. However, all of this is not the reason that I created the Black Cloak character in the first place. That will have to wait for when his identity is inevitably revealed.

Now, besides Batman, the other source of edginess that inspires this arc is Shadow the Hedgehog itself. I decided pretty early on that this arc would have to take place in Westopolis, and the decision to start referencing Shadow the Hedgehog as often as possible followed quickly. I tried to draw a lot of parallels between Shadow’s first encounter with this city and Sonic’s newest one. For example, the hill and tree from which Sonic looked off at the city is the very same location where the opening scene of Shadow the Hedgehog began, where Shadow too had a conveniently informative newspaper blown into him. More parallels are likely to follow. Does that mean that Sonic will be tempted by Darkness, as Shadow was at this time? We’ll just have to wait and see…

One more thing we haven’t directly discussed. Where did Shadow disappear to!? Well, I can confirm that he isn’t dead. But you could have figured that out for yourself, seeing as he appears in the future Crisis of Chaos arc. I’m afraid that I can’t spoil anything else at this point, seeing as Shadow’s whereabouts are the entire driving force of this arc.

Oh, and before I leave, I almost forgot. Those sharp red projectiles that Black Cloak throws, there’s a good reason that you haven’t gotten a good look at them yet, it’s not just because they’re generic shapes or something. Their existence is inspired by the Batarang, a key weapon of Batman.

– So until next time, remember to live and learn every day!

Leave a comment